The European Union and Eastern Europe

The Eastern Partnership is a joint initiative of the EU, its Member States and the Eastern European partner countries. It provides for greater opportunity for those partner countries interested in doing so, to move towards the EU and increase political, economic and cultural links.

The Partnership was launched in 2009 at a Summit held in Prague, in an effort by the EU and its Eastern European partners - Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, the Republic of Moldova and Ukraine - to help promote political and economic reforms and assist the countries of the region move closer to the EU. At its basis lies a shared commitment to international law and fundamental values, including democracy, the rule of law and respect for human rights and fundamental freedoms, as well as to market economy, sustainable development and good governance.

Further Information